

Joanne Roney OBE
Chief Executive
Telephone: 0161 234 3006
j.roney@manchester.gov.uk
PO Box 532, Town Hall
Extension, Manchester
M60 2LA

Tuesday, 11 May 2021

Dear Councillor / Honorary Alderman,

Meeting of the Council - Wednesday, 19th May, 2021

You are summoned to attend a meeting of the Council which will be held at 10.00 am on Wednesday, 19th May, 2021, in Exchange Auditorium, Manchester Central Convention Centre, Windmill Street, Manchester, M2 3GX.

1. Election of the Lord Mayor of Manchester

To elect the Lord Mayor of Manchester for the 2021/22 Municipal Year.

2. Appointment of the Deputy Lord Mayor

To appoint a Deputy Lord Mayor for the 2021/22 Municipal Year.

3. The Lord Mayor's Announcements and Special Business

4. Minutes 5 - 18

To submit for approval the minutes of the meeting held on 31 March 2021.

5. Interests

To allow Members an opportunity to declare any personal, prejudicial or disclosable pecuniary interest they might have in any items which appear on this agenda; and record any items from which they are precluded from voting as a result of Council Tax or Council rent arrears. Members with a personal interest should declare that at the start of the item under consideration. If members also have a prejudicial or disclosable pecuniary interest they must withdraw from the meeting during the consideration of the item

6. Seniority of Councillors

The statement of the City Solicitor concerning the seniority of councillors is to follow.

7. Leader of the Council

To elect the Leader of the Council.

8. Appointment of Committees and Chairs

To approve the appointment of Members of the following -

Art Galleries Committee
Employee Appeals Committee

Licensing Committee Personnel Committee Standards Committee

Executive Standing Consultative

Panel

Audit Committee

Licensing and Appeals Cor Licensing Policy Committee Planning and Highways Co Health and Wellbeing Boar

Scrutiny Committees:-

Children and Young People Environment and Climate Change

Health

Communities and Equalitie

Economy

Resources and Governanc

(see recommendations of the Constitutional and Nomination Committee in the minutes of 18 May 2021 – circulated in advance of the meeting).

9. Appointments to the Combined Authority, Joint Authorities and Joint Committees

To approve appointment of representatives to the Combined Authority, Joint Authorities and Joint Committees.

(see recommendations of the Constitutional and Nomination Committee in the minutes of 18 May 2021 – circulated in advance of the meeting).

10. Dates of Council meetings

To agree the dates of ordinary meetings of the Council in 2019/20:

Wednesday 14 July 2021 Wednesday 1 December 2021 Friday 4 March 2022 (Budget)

Wednesday 6 October 2021 Wednesday 2 February 2022 Wednesday 30 March 2022

and that the Annual Meeting of the Council 2022 will be on 18 May 2022.

Yours faithfully,

Joanne Roney OBE Chief Executive

Information about the Council

The Council is composed of 96 councillors with one third elected three years in four. Councillors are democratically accountable to residents of their ward. Their overriding duty is to the whole community, but they have a special duty to their constituents, including those who did not vote for them.

Six individuals with previous long service as councillors of the city have been appointed Honorary Aldermen of the City of Manchester and are entitled to attend every Council meeting. They do not however have a vote.

All councillors meet together as the Council under the chairship of the Lord Mayor of Manchester. There are seven meetings of the Council in each municipal year and they are open to the public. Here councillors decide the Council's overall strategic policies and set the budget each year.

Agenda, reports and minutes of all Council meetings can be found on the Council's website www.manchester.gov.uk

Members of the Council

Councillors:-

Abdullatif, Akbar, Azra Ali, Ahmed Ali, Nasrin Ali, Sameem Ali, Shaukat Ali, Alijah, Andrews, Appleby, Baker-Smith, Bano, Battle, Bayunu, Bridges, Butt, Chambers, Chohan, Clay, Collins, Cooley, Connolly, Craig, Curley, M Dar, Y Dar, Davies, Doswell, Douglas, Evans, Farrell, Flanagan, Foley, Green, Grimshaw, Hacking, Hassan, Hewitson, Hilal, Hitchen, Holt, Hughes, Hussain, Hutchinson, Igbon, Ilyas, Jeavons, Johns, S Judge, T Judge (Chair), Kamal, Karney, Kirkpatrick, Lanchbury, Leech, Leese, J Lovecy, Ludford, Lynch, Lyons, McHale, Midgley, Mary Monaghan, Moore, Newman, Noor, Nunney, B Priest, H Priest, Rahman, Raikes, Rawlins, Rawson, Razaq, Reeves, Reid, Riasat, Richards, Robinson, Rowles, Russell, Sadler, M Sharif Mahamed, Sheikh, Shilton Godwin, A Simcock, Stanton, Stogia, Strong, Taylor, Wheeler, Whiston, White, Wills, Wilson and Wright

Honorary Aldermen of the City of Manchester -

Hugh Barrett, Andrew Fender, Audrey Jones JP, Paul Murphy OBE, Nilofar Siddiqi and Keith Whitmore.

Further Information

For help, advice and information about this meeting please contact the meeting Clerk:

Andrew Woods Tel: 0161 234 3011

Email: andrew.woods@manchester.gov.uk

This agenda was issued on **Tuesday, 11 May 2021** by the Governance and Scrutiny Support Unit, Manchester City Council, Level 3, Town Hall Extension (Lloyd Street Elevation), Manchester M60 2LA